[Skip to content]

  • High Contrast
  • High Contrast
  • Normal Contrast
George Eliot Hospital - NHS Trust
Search our Site
Advanced Search How To Find Us
.

Our journey to EXCEL

Addressing the concerns raised in the Keogh Review

Background

In February 2013, following the publication of Robert Francis QC's report into care at Mid Staffordshire Hospital, Prime Minister David Cameron identified 14 trusts across the country with historically high mortality rates that would be subject to a review, which would be led by Professor Sir Bruce Keogh, Medical Director at the Department of Health. George Eliot Hospital NHS Trust was one of those identified.

In May 2013, the Trust welcomed Professor Keogh’s rapid response team to the hospital. The team inspected all aspects of care provided by the Trust.

The review was published in July 2013. It identified no immediate concerns and praised the work of staff at the Trust, many of whom they described as ‘outstanding and dedicated individuals’ and ‘passionate and loyal’.

Many of the themes identified in the review had already been identified by the Trust and plans were already in place to start addressing them; many actions had already been completed but what the review showed is that the pace of change needed to increase in certain areas.

In September, the Trust published the action plan it has in place to recommend the recommendations in the Keogh Review. The Trust is committed to addressing all of the concerns raised in the review and continuing to develop a clinically sustainable model of care that meets the needs of local people now and into the future.

This area of the Trust’s website will keep you up to date how the Trust is delivering the improvements recommended in the Keogh Review and also act as a central point for Keogh related resources.

If you have any feedback or queries regarding this process, please contact the Trust’s communications office (tel. 024 7686 5383, e-mail. communications@geh.nhs.uk).

Please Note this page is now archived but still available for information only - Updated June 2017

Latest developments

  • Patients give services the thumbs upAn overwhelming number of people who have accessed services at George Eliot Hospital are saying that they would recommend the service they receive to their friends and family. 29 April 2014
  • Have your say on services as part of major inspectionLocal people are being given an opportunity to have their say on care provided at the Hospital as part of an inspection, which Chief Executive Kevin McGee has described as a 'vital staging post' in... 24 April 2014
  • Avoidable pressure sore milestone celebratedNo avoidable grade 2, 4 or 4 sores reported in January or February 23 April 2014
  • Infection successStaff at George Eliot Hospital are celebrating more success in their battle to eliminate hospital acquired infections. 03 April 2014

10 key areas for improvement

  1. We must improve evidence of the  Trusts leadership  in driving  improvements in quality of care and treatment.  

  2. We must improve  the pace of quality improvements.

  3. We must improve ourbed management, increase clinical input and reduce number of unnecessary bed moves.

  4. We must improve levels of clinical cover particularly at weekends and overnight. 

  5. We must improve the quality of our medical handovers.

  6. We must improve the delivery of care to patients  using nationally identified care pathways. 

  7. We must ensure a consistent culture  with ambition to excel and exceed minimum expectations.

  8. We must improve  the understanding of mortality issues.

  9. We must  improve the reporting of incidents.

  10. We must reduce the prevalence of pressure ulcers and clarify grading.

Key information

Action plan

   Summary action plan

   Full action plan


Special measures

   Special measures report


Review outcomes

   Rapid responsive review report


Review documentation

   Data packs

   Key lines of enquiry

   Agenda

   Panel members

Key indicators

Sepsis screening and treatment
[ Zoom ]
Sepsis graph

Pressure ulcers
[ Zoom ]
Pressure sores